Great Expectations

Shoot for the Moon, 2013

Shoot for the Moon,2014 original acrylic painting by Georgie Pratt

expectation – ex·pec·ta·tion [ek-spek-tey-shuhn] noun
the act or state of looking forward or anticipating.

I have been thinking a lot about expectations. I never thought that having expectations was a bad thing. Now, I’m starting to see things a little differently.

I used to confuse expectations with goals. When I set myself a goal, I also set an intention. I plan and ultimately take action in order to attain that goal. But, sometimes, things occur that are beyond my control which prevent me from reaching my goal. When that happens, I become disappointed. That disappointment leads to anger, regret and resentment.

That’s when I began to realize that it wasn’t my goal that was important – it was more about the result. I became unhappy when I didn’t get the result that I was expecting. The definition above states that expectations are a result of “looking forward or anticipating” – focusing on the future. The future is something that is most definitely beyond my control. There is also a saying that expectations are future resentments. Resentments are a result of focusing on the past. It is living in the past and worrying about the future that usually brings unhappiness. I would much rather be happy living in the present.

So, now, I prefer to look at my goals more in terms of my intention. When I am mindful of my intentions and living in the present, I can let go of my expectations and be grateful for whatever the result may be. I am better able to appreciate the unexpected gifts that come my way.

There is an old saying, “Shoot for the moon, because even if you fall, you’ll land among the stars.” Goals are important. Set an intention, plan and take action – but let go of expecting a specific result. Then you can be free to enjoy life in the present.

I’ll be reading tarot at Cafe Tu Tu Tango this Friday and Sunday. Come on by and see me if you need a little help focusing on your intentions 🙂

**Author’s Note: When I initially wrote this blog, I spent quite some time composing it on the computer. After typing it all out, I lost the entire piece and could not restore a back up. So, I had to sit down and type it all over again from scratch. I received a first hand lesson in expectations! Who ever said the Universe didn’t have a sense of humor? Lol! Georgie

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Great Expectations”

  1. genasemenov says :

    Great post Georgie! Intention in the present = magic in the future!

Leave a Reply

