Follow your heart

Something I Can Have - detail of an original acrylic painting by Georgie Pratt copyright 2005

Something I Can Have – detail of an original acrylic painting by Georgie Pratt copyright 2005

I have been going through some pretty major changes in my life lately. I have made some decisions that may appear a little risky to others. One of those changes was to quit my day job and become a full time artist and reader. Now, let me let you in on a little secret – not that long ago, if you suggested that I quit my job for that reason, I would have told you that you were crazy. But, that’s exactly what I did.

I won’t lie – it hasn’t been a totally easy transition. There has been a lot of hard work and quite a few sacrifices. Regardless, I know it was the right decision. I followed my heart. Sounds easy, right? Of course it isn’t! Most of us don’t have faith in ourselves. We don’t believe that we can deal with the challenges we may face or the setbacks. And many don’t even know what their higher self sounds like.

For me, the key is joy. As I looked at my life – what was working and what wasn’t – I focused on finding the joy. In the beginning, all I could see was the negative (naturally :-P) so decided to remove the things from my life that brought me pain. That has been quite a process in itself! There were many things in my life that made me uncomfortable, but I was used to them. I very much believed that the devil you know is way better than the one you don’t know. But, I soon started to realize that my expectations that change brought more hardship were preventing me from moving forward. And so I discovered that the unknown wasn’t so scary after all.

As I was banishing negativity from my life, I found that there really were things that brought me joy! When new opportunities arose that could showcase my talents, I became excited. I no longer worried about whether or not they would be successful. I didn’t succumb to the fear of “can I do it?”. I was just happy. I began to realize that, because I wasn’t holding on the the fear and the doubt, I could just experience joy.

To me, the joy that I felt when I was asked to show my work – joy that was no longer hampered by fear that no one would come or doubt that I could handle the amount of work – was my heart talking to me. Joy is the language of my heart. Because I started listening to what my heart was saying, it’s started talking to me more. 😉 Now I know, that no matter what setbacks may occur, I will always get up and dust myself off. I have figured out the language of my heart and will listen to whatever it has to tell me ❤

Come see me this Friday, Saturday and Sunday for a reading at Cafe Tu Tu Tango if you think that you need a little help interpreting the language of your heart!

Namaste,

Georgie

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

