Positive thoughts, positive outlook

Sometimes we can't see the forest for the trees.

Sometimes we can’t see the forest for the trees.

Life is hard. I don’t think anybody would disagree with me on that. But, sometimes, I think it’s hard only because we make it so. It is really easy to focus on what’s not working – unsatisfying job, unfulfilling relationship, wasted time/dreams….never mind car troubles, bills – taxes! The list can go on and on. Many of us think that the deck is stacked against us. And the more that we focus on all of our worries, the more they seem to pile up! Is that all that there really is to life?

Have you ever had “one of those days”? You wake up late for work. When you jump out of bed, you stub your toe. You spill your coffee as you’re trying to get ready, only to realize that you’re out of milk! Your shower is cold, the traffic is worse than usual, and you can’t find a parking space. Naturally, your day is shot. One thing after another goes wrong.

The only thing that was truly wrong in this scenario was the perspective. When we focus only on the negative, that becomes the only thing that we can perceive. When I find myself in that cycle of negative thinking, I immediately stop myself and try to think of something positive. By turning my thoughts to something that IS good, I am able to get a little perspective.

As soon as I wake up in the morning, I lay in my bed and think of something that I’m grateful for. Sometimes it’s too early to even be that positive! In that case, I think of something good that happened the day before – or even just something that I was able to accomplish that day. I don’t get out of bed until I have a positive thought. That helps me set the tone for the day.

Of course, as the day goes on, other fears, worries and resentments pop up. When that happens, I do it again – think of something positive. It’s a constant process. It takes work. The more you practice thinking positive, the easier it gets. I just recently did a gig that wasn’t as profitable as I had hoped. It was a lot of work to prepare for it and it was a long day. Inevitably, I started to get frustrated and depressed. I was able to recognize where that train of thought was going. So, instead I focused on the fact that the day of the event was beautiful and I got to be outside. I was in the company of friends and we made each other laugh all day. It was a great atmosphere with a lot to see. By looking at my day that way, I could see that it wasn’t a loss. I didn’t make a lot of money, but I had a fantastic experience.

So, what do you want your life to be? Do you want a life filled with fear and frustration or one with peace and joy? You get to decide. Nothing is perfect and life is rarely easy, but there is beauty and light everywhere. All you have to do is look for it.

If you still need a little help finding the blessings in your life, come by Cafe Tu Tu Tango this Friday or Sunday night to get a reading from me. Maybe I can help you find a new perspective!

 

Namaste,

Georgie

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

